Top Section

Parliament of Canada


À propos de Parliament of Canada

À propos de Parliament of Canada

Entreprise mère
111 Wellington St, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4, Canada
Numéro de téléphone
+1 866-599-4999
Site internet

The Parliament of Canada is the federal legislature of Canada, seated at Parliament Hill in Ottawa, and is composed of three parts: the Monarch, the Senate, and the House of Commons. By constitutional convention, the House of Commons is dominant, with the Senate rarely opposing its will. The Senate reviews legislation from a less partisan standpoint and may initiate certain bills. The monarch or her representative, normally the governor general, provides royal assent to make bills into law. The governor general, on behalf of the monarch, summons and appoints the 105 senators on the advice of the prime minister, while the 338 members of the House of Commons—called members of Parliament—each represent an electoral district, commonly referred to as a riding, and are elected by Canadian voters residing in the riding.